Public Holidays in Ireland

Monday, November 4, 2019

 In Ireland, there are nine public holidays each year.

  • New Year’s Day (1st January)
  • St. Patrick’s Day (17th March)
  • Easter Monday
  • The first Monday in May
  • The first Monday in June
  • The first Monday in August
  • The last Monday in October
  • Christmas Day (25th December)
  • St. Stephen’s Day (26th December) 

In respect of a public holiday the employee is entitled to:


  • a paid day off on that day
  • a paid day off within a month of that day
  • an additional day of annual leave
  • an additional days pay